Site icon The WFY

Latest: You Need to Know Tomorrow, Nepal’s and India’s Foreign Ministers Will Jointly Inaugurate Three Transmission Lines

Lahan, January: On Thursday, the foreign ministers of Nepal and India will jointly inaugurate three 132 kVA transmission lines.

The foreign ministers of both countries will inaugurate the Raxaul-Parwanipur transmission line connecting India’s Bihar state, the Kushaha-Kataiya transmission line, and the Nautanwa-Mainahiya transmission line connecting India’s Uttar Pradesh state, according to high sources.

Similarly, a 10,000-megawatt electricity trade agreement will be signed in the presence of Nepal and India’s foreign ministers.

According to reliable sources, the MoU will be signed tomorrow by India’s Secretary of the Ministry of Energy, Pankaj Agarwal, and Nepal’s Secretary of the Ministry of Energy, Gopal Sigdel.

A delegation from India’s Ministry of Energy has arrived in Kathmandu to sign a medium- and long-term energy agreement between Nepal and India. A program will also be signed in the presence of the foreign ministers of both countries by Pankaj Agarwal, Secretary of the Ministry of Energy of India, and Gopal Sigdel, Secretary of the Ministry of Energy of Nepal.

Today is the joint secretary-level meeting of Nepal’s and India’s Ministries of Energy in Kathmandu. This meeting will attempt to reach an agreement on the establishment of an energy bank. If there is agreement at the joint secretary level, this agenda will be finalized at the meeting of the Ministry of Energy’s secretary-level joint directorate committee on January 5–6 in Chitwan.

On Thursday morning, Indian Foreign Minister S. Jaishankar arrived in Nepal, leading an Indian delegation that included Foreign Secretary Binay Mohan Kwatra, Joint Secretary Anurag Srivastava, External Affairs Ministry Spokesperson Arindam Bagchi, and officials from the Ministry of External Affairs’ Border Management.

External Affairs Minister Jaishankar and a team from the Indian Air Force will arrive at Tribhuvan International Airport at 10 a.m. on Thursday.

The delegation will be greeted at the airport by Foreign Secretary Sewa Lamsal and the Indian Ambassador to Nepal. In addition to meeting with Foreign Minister NP Saud, he will attend the Nepal-India Joint Commission meeting.

Courtesy meetings with the President, Prime Minister, Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, and UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli have been scheduled.

A group meeting with the leaders of the parliamentary parties of the parties represented in parliament, the chairpersons of the parliamentary committees, and the top leaders of the major political parties will take place at the dinner hosted by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Exit mobile version