WFY Today

Know About The Ultimate WPL Of This Year

Which channel in the UK is Delhi Capitals vs. Mumbai Indians on?

Live coverage of the Delhi Capitals vs. Mumbai Indians game will be on Sky Sports.

After a sluggish start, the Delhi Capitals have soared up the WPL standings with three straight victories, and they currently top the Mumbai Indians in net run-rate. Mumbai caught Delhi on a bad day, and even though they beat the Capitals in the season’s first game, as a team, they are far stronger now. Like the rest of the competition, the Mumbai Indians will find it difficult to control Delhi’s top order, which has been playing in spectacular form at bat. In light of it, wager on the Delhi Capitals to win this one.

An Indian women’s Twenty20 cricket franchise league is called the Women’s Premier League (WPL). The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) owns and runs it.

The Mumbai Indians won the inaugural title in the first season, which concluded in March 2023. There were five participating franchises, and the matches were held in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai.

The second season ran from February through March of 2024. Delhi and Bengaluru hosted matches.

This competition began in 2018 as a single-match competition and was expanded to include three teams and three matches in 2019; 2020; and 2022.

Plans were more developed by August, and the BCCI declared in October that they were thinking of holding a five-team competition in March 2023. The Women’s Indian Premier competition was the colloquial moniker for this competition; BCCI Secretary Jay Shah emphasised that the Women’s Premier League is the official name of the league.

The BCCI opened bids on January 28, 2023, for the league’s title sponsorship rights through 2027. After defeating the Delhi Capitals in the championship game, the Mumbai Indians emerged as the tournament’s first winners, with Tata Group winning the bid for an undisclosed sum.

The IPL’s organisational structure serves as the model for the league.
The competition starts with five teams, each of which plays the other in a double-round robin style. The three teams that finish with the most points advance to the playoffs. If the league is successful, the board intends to increase the number of franchises and games in the upcoming seasons.
22 games were played during the league’s inaugural season, which ran from March 4 to March 26, 2023, at Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium. During the inaugural season, women were given free tickets.
Shakti, the tigress mascot of the league, is decked out in a sky blue cricket jersey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *